Challenge Week Four and Five: Media and Memory

It was the most AMAZING invention in my whole entire life. It was my universe. It was my world. I just couldn’t do without my playscape.

That playscape was literally built around me. I was four when I begged and pleaded my parents for a playscape. And before I knew it, there I was, hanging on the perfectly soft wood just like a monkey swinging from vine to vine. My face would gleam with joy, making memories everyday. I would have adventures from treasure stealing pirates and super sneaky ninjas to the lighthearted princesses and the prince who saves the day. While I played on it, my whole world had no worries. Every moment counted when I was in my backyard.

I was so excited to come home from school every day to play on my playscape. Without it, my childhood wouldn’t have near as many memories to look back upon and smile.

20140411-101028.jpg
Photo taken by me.

7 thoughts on “Challenge Week Four and Five: Media and Memory

  1. “It was the most AMAZING invention in my whole entire life. It was my universe. It was my world.”
    Wonderful introduction! I like what you did with the parallel structure in this magic three.

    I don’t remember a playscape of my own, but I know how much my own children loved theirs for their imaginary games.

  2. That’s so cool the you had a play scape when you were little! I was always jealous of other kids in my neighborhood that had playscapes. I would always try to go to their house when ever it was possible. Though, you had your very own playscape! That’s pretty cool!

  3. I love this! My favorite part is how you elaborated in the second paragraph. Especially when you gave examples of your adventures on the play scape.

  4. “And before I knew it, there I was, hanging on the perfectly soft wood just like a monkey swinging from vine to vine. My face would gleam with joy, making memories everyday.” I like this metaphor because I can really see you jumping and playing around on your playscape. I love how you ended too because it leaves you with a nice feeling.

  5. I’ve never heard of a ‘playscape’ before but I like the word a lot and in fact it helps to describe what I’m planning for my garden at the moment. We have thought of swings or a trampoline, but now I’m wondering if that would make a great place for imagining adventures.
    You have made some great memories.

    • A playscape is perfect for a garden- there are swings included depending on the type of playscape. They’re so fun to have and they really do create MANY memories!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *